Open today: 00:00 - 00:00

By continuing your navigation on this website, you accept the use of cookies for statistical purposes.

Human Beings
The Matrix

The Matrix




1x Vinyl 12"



Release date

Nov 30, 2022

Back in the nineties, Human Beings were pioneers in the Dutch techno scene.

Back in the nineties, Human Beings were pioneers in the Dutch techno scene. And The Matrix may well be their finest moment. SoHaSo gives this stone-cold classic the re-release it deserves, together with a magical Plaid-remix and a forgotten track, straight from DAT. Together with Quazar and Fierce Ruling Diva, Utrecht-based duo Human Beings were among the very first brave enough to go live, back in 1992. Dance music was still called house or techno. Other flavors only came later. Both Allert Aalders and Bert van der Grift were proper nerds. Their studio was filled to the brims with vintage synthesizers and drum computers and all machines were constantly challenged. Van der Grift sadly passed away in 2005 after a sudden cerebral haemorrhage, marking the abrupt end of Human Beings. The Matrix ticks all the boxes of a proper Human Beings-tune: crystal clear melodies sweeping from corner to corner, ultra-clever drum programming and a main theme that knocks your socks right off. In the energetic live version, they have shaped the track to perfection. A secret weapon that works wonders on dancefloors, even 30 years later. London duo Plaid strip The Matrix to its bare essentials, focusing on the main melody while giving the kick a bit more oomph in a Plaid kinda way. Ghost in the Shell is exactly that. A forgotten off-beat track, made during one of those many sessions in Bert's crampy studio. Its murky downtempo rhythms take a nod to both Meat Beat Manifesto and Renegade Sound Wave. Ah, those golden days....

Media: Mi
Sleeve: M


Sold out

*Taxes included, shipping price excluded


The Matrix (Live Version)


Ghost In The Shell


The Matrix (Plaid Remix)


The Matrix

Other items you may like:

Berlin imprint E&X Records launches fresh for 2023.UK based Tom Frankel is first up to take the reigns with a powerful, energetic and entrancing three track EP featuring a catchy and immersive remix of lead cut “Obvious Choice” from Berlin’s Revivis.
A wise character once reminded her to tread the heavy ground with light feet. After a whirlwind two years since moving back to Hong Kong and starting from scratch, Xiaolin has re-emerged from the depths of her studio stronger than ever with a second EP - her first vinyl release to date.Inspired by the Tower card from the Tarot, Tower Moment EP is a cosmic journey through four stages of healing: darkness, acceptance, transformation and freedom.The record begins with “Dark Night” (of the Soul), followed by the gentle comfort of “Safe With Me”, a nostalgic electro ballad. On Side B: a chuggy tune layered with textures and samples, “Lemuria”, transports listeners to a surreal land of self-discovery, while Blue Hour completes the experience with his anthemic “Elevator” remix.With her signature mix of 909 kicks and 808 breaks blended with acid bass lines, subtle percussion and ethereal melodies, Xiaolin’s organic approach to techno and electro showcases her colourful palette and sensitivity as a musician, along with a love for jazz and warm synth sounds from the early 90’s era.
INTEASE 003 is the result of the third Intease Contest. The idea is that a godfather imposes tracks/samples to the producers and that they do what they want with them and produce a track at the end.Then, the jury makes a pre-selection, and the community of producers votes for its favorites. So here we have the track of the godfather Vitess who produced the track DewDew. The winners of the contest are Doublure, Palorim, Jake Scully and Yahzi.
Planet Orange records proudly returns with their long awaited third release which includes four new tracks destined for the dancefloor. Space Expeditions EP kicks off with Kepler who is no stranger to a vinyl release, this time he presents a proper summer house track with “Feel the Rhythm” which is sure to get any party started. For A2 we introduce Nuances de Nuit label co-owner T Jacques with “Spruce Caboose” sticking to what he knows with his fully of energy and fun signature production style which is perfectly fitting for the label. Pete Melba brings in B2 releasing on his own label with “El Hombre” pushing a slightly deeper, techier sound and finishing up the VA on B2 we have Accented Measures who refuses to bring us back down to Earth with a very catchy groove in “Adrift in Space”.
Whenever you think you've seen it all, SNC Recs comes round the corner with a brand new banger. Drum roll please for SNC007, shaken not stirred - the first Various Artists EP of the Ingolstadt based record label.Fresh approach - with well known favorites. All artists on the EP have released solo or split EPs on SNC already. So you can look forward to The Duty Freedom, Raphael Schön, Maurice Paloni and Salomo. SNC 007 will make you shed a tear on the dancefloor with a late summer acid anthem from The Duty Freedom on the one hand, and on the other hand wrap you in a cozy blanket knitted from Salomo’s legendary soundscapes. However, the record not only creates romantic feelings, but also delivers breaky and trancey vibes by the Bavarian based producers Raphael Schön and Maurice Paloni, where you certainly won’t be able to stay still. What else could you ask for?